Home News Arena 2011 round one

HHSC Opens

18th/19th May 2019
Spring Development (Level 3)
Entries open - closing date 26th April

Swim Manager


Forthcoming Events

Fri Apr 19, 2019
British Swimming Champs
Fri Apr 19, 2019 @08:00
Coach (Swimming)
Sat Apr 20, 2019
Luton L1 Meet
Sun Apr 21, 2019 @08:00
Sun Apr 28, 2019 @09:00
Newmarket Masters, Seniors, 16-17 Age Group Meet
Fri May 03, 2019
East Region Swimming Champs (50m) (15+)

Club Calendar

April 2019
31 1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 1 2 3 4
Arena 2011 round one
Written by Claudia Crutwell   
Thursday, 13 October 2011 18:53

Hemel Hempstead SC’s 2011/12season got underway with the first round of the Arena League at Borehamwood.  A total of twenty top three finishes, including eight new PBs, saw the club finish a commendable third place out of the eight teams competing.

Devon Prior got the team off to a positive start with a second place finish in the Open 200m Individual Medley recording the first personal best time of the night.  Prior went on to claim third spot in the 15/u breaststroke.

The three individual wins recorded on the night all went to boys in the 11/u age group.  Max Jelfs took the backstroke, Ben Garratt the butterfly, and Joe Prior the freestyle. With Thushira Kumarage coming second in the individual breaststroke it was no surprise that the 11/u boys’ team won both their relay races.

The 13/u girls of Molly McLoughlin, Paige Wilding, Emily Jelfs and Aimee Abrey were the next most successful relay team, coming second in both their races.

Abrey also succeeded in claiming an individual second in the 100m backstroke, with Wilding scoring two third places in the breaststroke and butterfly.

Other top three spots went to Sam Pigott in the Open 200m IM, Charlotte Ballard in the 15/u freestyle and Peter Kennett with a PB in the 13/u backstroke.

Other PB’s fell to Carl Prince (13/u breaststroke), Charlotte Ballard (15/u backstroke), Shaminah Sherwani (11/u butterfly), Robert Sizeland (13/u butterfly), Lois Moore (open backstroke) and Maisie Vincent (11/u breaststroke).

The Swimmers of the Gala medals were awarded to brother and sister, Joe and Devon Prior.


Follow us on Twitter