Home News Arena 2011 round three

HHSC Opens

9th December 2018
Alan Doyle Memorial Sprint
(Level 3)
18th/19th May 2019
Spring Development (Level 3)
(details to follow)

Swim Manager


Forthcoming Events

Sat Nov 24, 2018
Black Lion Winter Open Meet
Sat Dec 01, 2018
CoStA Winter Open
Sat Dec 08, 2018 @08:00
National Arena League 3/3
Sun Dec 09, 2018
HHSC Alan Doyle Memorial Sprint
Sat Jan 05, 2019
Herts Major League 1/3
Sat Jan 19, 2019
Swim England South East LC Masters

Club Calendar

November 2018
28 29 30 31 1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 1
Arena 2011 round three
Written by Claudia Crutwell   
Tuesday, 13 December 2011 14:59

Hemel Hempstead Swimming Club put in a strong effort to complete the third and final round of this year’s National Arena League.  With some absentees in the team, those competing had to pull out all the stops.

Three individual wins were claimed by Ben Garratt in the 11/u butterfly, Thushira Kumarage in the 11/u breaststroke and Joe Prior in the 11/under freestyle.  The three boys were joined by their younger team mate, Max Jelfs, in the relays to successfully defend their unbeaten run throughout the league.  Jelfs also scored a second place in his individual backstroke.  The four boys were awarded male Swimmer of the Gala jointly for their outstanding team performances.

The highest PB scorer was Tom Sherriff who seemed to improve with every race.  Sherriff kicked off the evening with a PB in the freestyle leg of the Open medley relay only to beat that time at the end of the evening with a PB in the freestyle squadron.  In between, Sherriff scored PBs in his individual 100m freestyle and butterfly races.

Aimee Abrey made two PBs, the first in the 13/u medley relay, the second in the individual 15/u backstroke, swimming up an age group.  Her time of 1.12.58 put her comfortably inside her Regional Qualifying Time.  Abrey won the female Swimmer of the Gala award for her inspired efforts.

Other two-time PB scorers were Louis Dunham, Emily Jelfs, Matthew Sherriff and Oliver Ayres.

The team finished 5th overall on the night, only ten points adrift of 4th, placing them a very respectable 4th overall in Division Two.


Follow us on Twitter